MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. <u>09</u>

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo

Relative to honoring the Mayors' Council of Guam, Guam's Mayors and Vice-Mayors, their respective Municipal Planning Councils, and staff during their thirtieth (30th) year of continued professional and outstanding service to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA' BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam, formerly the Village Commissioner System, is considered one of the oldest form of representative self-government on Guam with roots dating back to the Spanish and American occupations, and dating further back to 1500 B.C., where ancient *Chamorus* governed their respective villages through an assembly or group of men and women from among the general population; and

WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam was created in 1977, through Public Law 14-27, in an effort to establish a cohesive group of district leaders and administrators capable of effectuating intergovernmental communication towards the implementation of sound administrative and fiscal policies aimed at improving the quality of life for Guam residents; and

WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam is comprised of all Guam Mayors and Vice-Mayors with an administrative support staff including an Executive Director who is responsible for ensuring the effective and efficient discharge of the Council's duties and responsibilities, as prescribed by law; and

WHEREAS, the first Mayors' Council of Guam officers were the late Juan N. Perez, Mayor of Santa Rita (President), the late Francisco N. Lizama, Mayor of Sinajana (Vice-President), the late Tomas F. Mendiola, Mayor of Hagatna (Secretary), David B. Salas, Mayor of Piti (Treasurer), and Albert T. Topasna, Mayor of Umatac (Sergeant-at-Arms); and

WHEREAS, the Mayors' Council of Guam were led by Presidents and former Chief Commissioners of the Council, including Antonio C. Suarez (1931-1939), Vicente C. Castro (1939-1941), Vicente Zafra (1941-1960), Frederico T. Gutierrez (1960-1963), Leon D. Flores (1963-1965), Vicente Q. Sanchez (1965-1970), Joseph C. Aguon (1970-1975), Francisco C. Carbullido (1975-1976), Enrique S.M. Aflague (1976-1979); and

WHEREAS, throughout its thirty years following the former Village Commissioner System, the Mayors' Council of Guam has become a vital component of Guam's democratic foundation and continues to serve the needs of a growing and diverse island community; and; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ñuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, honor the Mayors' Council of Guam, Guam's Mayors and Vice-Mayors, their respective Municipal Planning Councils, and staff during their thirtieth (30th) year of continued professional and outstanding service to the people of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Honorable Paul McDonald, President, Mayors' Council of Guam; and to all Guam Mayors and Vice-Mayors; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

MINA' BEN OF		HESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE	_ DAY
MA	ARK FORBES	RAY TENORIO	-
9	Speaker	Senator and Secretary of the Legislatu	ire